Keeper of the Flame

Keeper of the Flame 2018

Sunday October 28, 2018

Temple Emanuel, Newton, MA

Register to Attend and Optionally place an Ad in our tribute book


Place an Ad in our Tribute Book and NOT Register to Attend

Congratulations to our Keepers of the Flame 5779 2018

Honoree     Temple Location 
Edward M Shoenig B'nai Tikvah Canton, MA 
Barrie Paster Congregation Ahavas Achim Newburyport, MA 
Steven H. Wolfe Congregation Beth Israel Worcester, MA 
Robert Cohen Congregation Mishkan Tefila Brookline, MA 
Bruce Berns Temple Aliyah Needham, MA 
John Chansky Temple Beth Sholom Framingham, MA 
Danny Mandeau Temple Emanuel Newton, MA 
Julian E. Hyman Temple Emeth Chestnut Hill, MA 
Hal Miller-Jacobs Temple Emunah Lexington, MA 
Philip J. Legro Temple Israel of Natick Natick, MA 
Stephen E. Shrago Temple Israel Sharon Sharon, MA 
Eric Richman Temple Ner Tamid Peabody, MA 
Richard Brunell Temple Reyim Newton, MA 
Alan Field Temple Torat Yisrael East Greenwich, RI 

Congratulations to our Keepers of the Flame 5778 2017

 Honoree Temple Location
 Ronald R. Pressler Congregation Ahavas Achim Newburyport, MA
 Mitchell Selig Congregation Mishkan Tefila Brookline, MA
 Howard Kaufman Temple Aliyah  Needham, MA
 Harvey Levine Temple Beth Am Randolph, MA
 Sid Katz Temple Beth Sholom  Framingham, MA
 Martin Paley Temple Emanuel Newton, MA
 Scott Gladstone Temple Emeth Chestnut Hill, MA
 Mike Rosenberg Temple Emunah Lexington, MA
 David Talamo Temple Israel of Natick Natick, MA
 Ronald Czik Temple Israel Sharon Sharon, MA
 Alan Lehman Temple Ner Tamid Peabody, MA
 Ian Marinoff Temple Reyim Newton, MA
 David Talan Temple Torat Yisrael East Greenwich, RI


Keeper of the Flame 2016

see  photo albu,tribute book  (click, scroll down) Keeper videos 
(for captions  put your device horizontally and click on the "i")
See the whole event courtesy of Larry Sandberg!

In 2016 we were at Temple Israel, Sharon, Ma
See you next year at Temple Emunah, Lexington, Ma

Congratulations to our Keepers of the Flame 5777 2016
 Honoree Temple Location
 Michael Fried     Congregation Ahavas Achim   Newburyport, Ma
 David J. Rubinstein Congregation Mishkan Tefila Brookline, Ma
 Richard Kramer Temple Aliyah     Needham, Ma
 Jarret L. Lotto        Temple Beth Am Randolph, Ma
 Marc Lowenthal Temple Emanuel Newton, Ma
 Richard Hodin Temple Emeth Chestnut Hill, Ma
 Joe Nissenbaum Temple Emunah Lexington, Ma
 Doug Koltenuk Temple Israel of Natick Natick, Ma
 Andrew Fandel Temple Israel Sharon Sharon, Ma
 Steven Ring Temple Ner Tamid Peabody, Ma
 Michael Baker Temple Reyim                        Newton, Ma
 Ken Gordon

Temple Shaare Tefilah 

Temple Beth Abraham

 Canton, Ma
 Canton, Ma

                                          Here are the pictures and video (videos require adobe flash)
from the New England Region FJMC 2015 Keeper of the Flame.   
Captions appear in slideshow mode, but this is device dependent
View or download the tribute book.

    2015 Fifteen years running!
 For their service and leadership we honored
 Richard Gray, Regional Keeper of the Flame and...

2015 Keeper of the Flame Honorees:
 Honoree Temple Location
 Michael Pearlman     Congregation Ahavas Achim   Newburyport, MA
 Daniel M. Kimmel Congregation Mishkan Tefila Chestnut Hill, MA
 Harold Dubin Temple Aliyah     Needham, MA
 Jay H. Wassersug           Temple Beth Am Randolph, MA
 Carl Barnett Temple Beth Sholom Framingham, MA
 Dennis Buchenholz Temple Emanuel Newton, MA
 Elliot Mark Temple Emeth Chestnut Hill, MA
 Frederick D. Ezekiel Temple Emunah Lexington, MA
 John Sudenfield Temple Israel of Natick Natick, MA
 Noah Horowitz Temple Israel Sharon Sharon, MA
 Morris Sack Temple Ner Tamid Peabody, MA
 Mark D. Sukenik Temple Shaare Tefilah Norwood, MA

Keeper of the Flame 2014

picture of kofs 2014

Back row (l-r):  Rabbi H. David Werb, Temple Beth Emunah, Brockton, MA; Peter Kolbe, Temple Shaare Tefilah, Norwood, MA; Michael Getz, Temple Israel, Sharon, MA; Rich Traiger, Congregation Beth Israel, Worcester, MA; David Kaplan, Congregation Mishkan Tefila, Chestnut Hill, MA; Fred Mermelstein, Temple Reyim, Newton, MA

Middle row (l-r):  Floyd Aaron, Temple Beth Am, Randolph, MA; Steven Markman, Temple Aliyah, Needham, MA; Joshua Rudin, Temple B'nai Abraham, Beverly, MA; Joel Pravda, Temple Israel, Natick, MA; David Goldberg, Temple Emunah, Lexington, MA; Stephen Golden, Temple Beth Sholom, Framingham, MA

Front row (l-r):  Rabbi Charles Simon, FJMC Executive Director; Melvin Babner, Temple Ner Tamid, Peabody, MA; Phillip Cohen, Temple Emeth, Chestnut Hill, MA; Kenneth Turkewitz, New England Region FJMC President; David Beckman, Temple Emanuel, Newton, MA; Harvey Wolf, Keeper of the Flame MC

KOF 2014

view the pictures in a KOF 2014 picassa slideshow

Thanks to Larry Strumpf and Carol Turkewitz for sharing their photos.

2014 Keeper of the Flame Honorees:
 Honoree  Temple  Location
 Richard Traiger          Congregation Beth Israel      Worcester, MA
 David Kaplan  Congregation Mishkan Tefila  Chestnut Hill, MA
 Steven Markman  Temple Aliyah      Needham, MA
 Floyd Aaron              Temple Beth Am  Randolph, MA
 Rabbi H. David Werb  Temple Beth Emunah  Brockton, MA
 Stephen Golden  Temple Beth Sholom  Framingham, MA
 Josh Rudin  Temple B'nai Abraham  Beverly, MA
 David Beckman  Temple Emanuel  Newton, MA
 Phillip P. Cohen  Temple Emeth  Chestnut Hill, MA
 David Goldberg  Temple Emunah  Lexington, MA
 Joel Pravda  Temple Israel of Natick  Natick, MA
 Michael Getz  Temple Israel Sharon  Sharon, MA
 Melvin Babner  Temple Ner Tamid  Peabody, MA
 Fred Mermelstein  Temple Reyim  Newton, MA
 Peter Kolbe  Temple Shaare Tefilah  Norwood, MA

KOF 2013

2013 Keeper of the Flame Honorees
Honoree Synagogue Location
Norman J. Gould, MD Congregation Agudat Achim Leominster, MA
Barry Z. Aframe Congregation Beth Israel Worcester, MA
David Dembling Congregation Mishkan Tefila Chestnut Hill, MA
Bruce Patz Temple Aliyah Needham, MA
Douglas Lurie Temple Beth Am Randolph, MA
Stanley Marcus Temple Beth Emunah Brockton, MA
Elliot Pozmanter Temple Beth Sholom Framingham, MA
David Greenfield Temple Emanuel Newton, MA
Joseph H. Schwartz, MD Temple Emeth Chestnut Hill, MA
Howard Reubenstein Temple Emunah Lexington, MA
Mark Needleman Temple Israel of Natick Natick, MA
Cantor Alan Kritz Temple Israel Sharon Sharon, MA
Todd Levine Temple Ner Tamid Peabody, MA
Stuart Horowitz Temple Reyim Newton, MA
Chazzan Joshua Grossman Temple Shaare Tefilah Norwood, MA

 Congratulations to the 2012 Keeper of the Flame honorees!

KOF 2012

Watch the video presentation on youtube.

Thank you to Temple Emanuel for doing a exceptional job 
hosting and coordinating this year's Keeper of the Flame event

Ron Czik,
Sep 4, 2013, 3:11 AM
Aaron Ginsburg,
Feb 10, 2019, 1:20 AM
Aaron Ginsburg,
Oct 31, 2015, 5:53 AM