TheRetreat 2019‎ > ‎

Manny Dobrusin Yasher Koach Award

The Manny Dobrusin Yasher Koach Award is given each year to a person who has contributed time and energy towards making the annual Laymen's Institute the premier Jewish men's retreat in the country. Past recipients have served in a variety of roles. It is named for Manny Dobrusin z"l who served for many years as the retreat's education director.   

The original plaque contains the names of honorees from 1993 to 2010.  It is permanently displayed at the synagogue at Camp Ramah. It is a tradition that the current plaque is displayed in the synagogue of this year's honoree.




2018    Rick Kramer

2017    Aaron Ginsburg

2016   Steve Baturin

2015   Marc Lowenthal

2014   Elliot Feldman

2013   Lester Macklin

2012    Peter Matusow
2011    David Singer
David served as Laymen's co-chair for 4 years. He developed all sorts of spreadsheets,
schedules and instruction sheets to help future chairmen run the Laymen's committee.


Daniel Kimmel

Dan served a the MC keeping us all entertained with lots of jokes.  He meticulously maintained the Megillah, our script for the weekend, to insure everything ran smoothly.





R. Van Lanckton

On of Van's key contributions to LI was his teaching during the Minyan in the Grove.



Marty Paley

Marty served as Ritual Directory.  He worked tireless calling  attendees to involved them in services.


Irwin Cherniak

Irwin filled the role of assistent registrar and took charge of the information packets.


2006 Cantor Harold Lew
2005 Bob Brown
2004 Mark O'leary
2003 Hermie Samick
2002 Larry Strumpf
2001 Herb Birnbaum
2000 Bob Braitman
1999 Arnie Miller
1998 Burt Fischman
1997 Harold Parritz
1996 Irwin Sydney
1995 Richard Gray
1994 Philip Epstein
1993 Fred Gliksman